Your Councillors by Ward

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors represent residents as part of their work in the community, contacting officers of the Council and other organisations on your behalf to respond to your enquiries. In order for elected Councillors to carry out your request for assistance or respond to your enquiry, it is necessary to collect, store and process your personal data. This privacy notice tells you what information Medway Council councillors collect and use, and your rights regarding your information.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

Who is my local Councillor?

You can find out who your local Councillor is by entering your postcode into the find my councillor page.

Councillor links

To find more information about Medway councillors please use the links below:

Councillor by Ward
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Sijuwade Adeoye

Councillor Sijuwade Adeoye

C/o Medway Council, Gun Wharf, Dock Road, Chatham, ME4 4TR

Home: 07961 930442

Work: sijuwade.adeoye@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Chatham Central
photo of Councillor Harinder Mahil

Councillor Harinder Mahil

206 Maidstone Road, Chatham, Kent, ME4 6HS

Home: 07912 699314

Work: harinder.mahil@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Chatham Central
photo of Councillor Vince Maple

Councillor Vince Maple

Leader of the Labour and Co-operative Group

29 Chalkpit Hill, Chatham, Kent, ME4 5SU

Work: 01634 332396

Home: 07981 661451

Home: vince.maple@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Chatham Central
photo of Councillor Matt Fearn

Councillor Matt Fearn

27 The Street, Upper Halling, Rochester, ME2 1HT

Home: 07739 706432

Work: matt_fearn@hotmail.com

Conservative Cuxton and Halling
photo of Councillor Pat Cooper

Councillor Pat Cooper

28 Dial Road, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 2RL

Home: 01634 575599

Work mobile: 07505 097509

Home mobile: 07505 097509

Work: pat.cooper@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Gillingham North
photo of Councillor Adam Price

Councillor Adam Price

13 Clifton Road, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 1NA

Home: 01634 571426

Work mobile: 07976 969912

Labour and Co-operative Gillingham North
photo of Councillor Andy Stamp

Councillor Andy Stamp

c/o Medway Labour Group Office,, Gun Wharf, Dock Road, Chatham, ME4 4TR

Home: 01634 579787

Work mobile: 07736 327002

Home: andy.stamp@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Gillingham North
photo of Councillor Clive Johnson

Councillor Clive Johnson

80 Moor Park Close, Rainham, Kent, ME8 8QT

Home: 01634 374976

Work mobile: 07802 872592

Home: clive.johnson@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Gillingham South
photo of Councillor Naushabah Khan

Councillor Naushabah Khan

91 Kingswood Road, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 1DX

Home: 07810 823398

Home: naushabah-khan@outlook.com

Labour and Co-operative Gillingham South
photo of Councillor Dan McDonald

Councillor Dan McDonald

13 Elmfield, Gillingham, Kent, ME8 6BW

Work mobile: 07580 102024

Home: dan.mcdonald@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Gillingham South
photo of Councillor Mrs Diane Chambers

Councillor Mrs Diane Chambers

6 Mansion Row, Brompton, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 5SE

Home: 01634 842913

Home: diane.chambers@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Hempstead and Wigmore
photo of Councillor Rodney Chambers, OBE

Councillor Rodney Chambers, OBE

Portfolio Holder for Inward Investment, Strategic Regeneration and Partnerships

6 Mansion Row, Brompton, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 5SE

Home: 01634 842913

Home: rodney.chambers@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Hempstead and Wigmore
photo of Councillor Alan Jarrett

Councillor Alan Jarrett

Leader of the Council

For Ward Work, 43 Ballens Road, Lordswood, Chatham, Kent, ME5 8NT

Home: 01634 684640

Work mobile: 07788 632768

Home: alan.jarrett@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Lordswood and Capstone
photo of Councillor David Wildey

Councillor David Wildey

627 Lordswood Lane, Lordswood, Chatham, Kent, ME5 8QY

Home: 01634 863416

Work mobile: 07732 626325

Home: david.wildey@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Lordswood and Capstone
photo of Councillor Simon Curry

Councillor Simon Curry

c/o Medway Council, Gun Wharf, Dock Road, Chatham Kent, ME4 4TR

Home: 07804 511302

Work: simoncurry03@gmail.com

Labour and Co-operative Luton and Wayfield
photo of Councillor Joanne Howcroft-Scott

Councillor Joanne Howcroft-Scott

c/o Medway Council, Dock Road, Chatham, ME4 4TR

Home: 01634 725752

Work mobile: 07913 849725

Work: joanne.howcroftscott@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Luton and Wayfield
photo of Councillor Tristan Osborne

Councillor Tristan Osborne

c/o PA to the Labour Group Leader, Medway Council, Gun Wharf, Dock Road, Chatham, Kent, ME4 4TR

Work mobile: 07793 204282

Home: tris.osborne@gmail.com

Labour and Co-operative Luton and Wayfield
photo of Councillor Phil Filmer

Councillor Phil Filmer

Portfolio Holder for Front Line Services

Bridgewater House, Parbrook Road, High Halstow, Rochester, ME3 8QG

Home: 01634 254196

Home: phil.filmer@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Peninsula
photo of Councillor Mick Pendergast

Councillor Mick Pendergast

The Nags Head, High Street, Lower Stoke, Rochester, ME3 9RA

Home: 01634 271023

Work mobile: 07931 002567

Work: mick.pendergast@aol.com

Home: mick.pendergast@medway.gov.uk

Independent Member Peninsula
photo of Councillor Ron Sands

Councillor Ron Sands

18 Gudgeon Crescent, Hoo, Rochester, ME3 9FR

Home: 07784 103447

Work: ron.sands@medway.gov.uk

Independent Member Peninsula
photo of Councillor Tashi Bhutia

Councillor Tashi Bhutia

34 Maidstone Road, Chatham, ME4 6DG

Home: 07882 368919

Home: tashi.bhutia@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Princes Park
photo of Councillor Gloria Opara

Councillor Gloria Opara

48 Kingfisher Drive, Walderslade, Chatham, Kent, ME5 7NY

Home: 07415 533596

Home: gloria.opara@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Princes Park
photo of Councillor Nusrat Ahmed

Councillor Nusrat Ahmed

c/o Medway Council, Gun Wharf, Dock Road, Chatham, ME4 4TR

Home: 07528 172704

Work: nusrat.ahmed@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Rainham Central
photo of Councillor Jan Aldous

Councillor Jan Aldous

C/o Medway Council, Gun Wharf, Dock Road Chatham, Kent, ME4 4TR

Work mobile: 07955 852551

Home: jan.aldous@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Rainham Central
photo of Councillor Barry Kemp

Councillor Barry Kemp

Conservative Group Whip

18 Herbert Road, Rainham, Gillingham, Kent, ME8 9BZ

Home: 01634 365231

Work mobile: 07804 893632

Home: barryjkemp@hotmail.com

Conservative Rainham Central
photo of Councillor Kirstine Carr

Councillor Kirstine Carr

68 Kingsway, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 3AU

Home: 01634 853366

Work mobile: 07931 842328

Work: kirstine-carr@hotmail.co.uk

Conservative Rainham North
photo of Councillor Martin Potter

Councillor Martin Potter

Portfolio Holder for Education and Schools

23 Ellison Way, Rainham, Kent, ME8 7PL

Home: 01634 566475

Home: mpotter.rainham@gmail.com

Conservative Rainham North
photo of Councillor Roger Barrett

Councillor Roger Barrett

54 Middleton Close, Rainham, Kent, ME8 9LR

Home: 07850 366508

Work: roger.barrett@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Rainham South
photo of Councillor Howard Doe

Councillor Howard Doe

Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Housing and Community Services

The Warren, 21 Style Close, Rainham, Gillingham, Kent, ME8 9LS

Home: 01634 366419

Home: howard.doe@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Rainham South
photo of Councillor Gary Hackwell

Councillor Gary Hackwell

98 Long Catlis Road, Rainham, Kent, ME8 9TH

Home: 07477 636656

Work: gary.hackwell@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Rainham South
photo of Councillor Habib Tejan

Councillor Habib Tejan

The Worshipful The Mayor of Medway

31 Samphire Way, St Mary's Island, Chatham, ME4 3SA

Home: 01634 891046

Work mobile: 07985 169598

Home: habib.tejan@medway.gov.uk

Conservative River
photo of Councillor Piers Thompson

Councillor Piers Thompson

6 Manor Road, Chatham, Kent, ME4 6AG

Home: 07869 565285

Home: piers.thompson@medway.gov.uk

Conservative River
photo of Councillor Nick Bowler

Councillor Nick Bowler

13 Thomas Street, Rochester, Kent, ME1 2ED

Home: 01634 829026

Work mobile: 07793 806011

Work: nickbowler89@btinternet.com

Labour and Co-operative Rochester East
photo of Councillor Teresa Murray

Councillor Teresa Murray

Deputy Leader of the Labour and Co-operative Group

318 City Way, Rochester, Kent, ME1 2BL

Home: 01634 409486

Work mobile: 07855 378043

Home: teresamurraytm@aol.com

Labour and Co-operative Rochester East
photo of Councillor Trevor Clarke

Councillor Trevor Clarke

19 Wemmick Close, Cloisterham Park, Rochester, Kent, ME1 2DL

Home: 07884 271471

Home: tacrsh19@yahoo.com

Conservative Rochester South and Horsted
photo of Councillor Sylvia Griffin

Councillor Sylvia Griffin

12 Beaulieu Rise, Rochester, Kent, ME1 2PQ

Home: 01634 404139

Home mobile: 07796 803902

Home: sylvia_brian@btinternet.com

Conservative Rochester South and Horsted
photo of Councillor Rupert Turpin

Councillor Rupert Turpin

Portfolio Holder for Business Management

30 Purbeck Road, Chatham, Kent, ME4 6ED

Home: 01634 305680

Work mobile: 07411 704982

Work: cllrturpin@gmail.com

Conservative Rochester South and Horsted
photo of Councillor Alex Paterson

Councillor Alex Paterson

c/o Medway Council, Gun Wharf, Dock Road, Chatham Kent, ME4 4TR

Work mobile: 07801 286412

Work: alex.paterson@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Rochester West
photo of Councillor Stuart Tranter

Councillor Stuart Tranter

51 St Margaret's Street, Rochester, Kent, ME1 1UG

Home: 07798 885332

Home: stuart-tranter@btconnect.com

Conservative Rochester West
photo of Councillor Jane Chitty

Councillor Jane Chitty

Portfolio Holder for Planning, Economic Growth and Regulation

20 Broom Hill Road, Strood, Rochester, Kent, ME2 3LE

Work mobile: 07930 236228

Work: jane.chitty@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Strood North
photo of Councillor Stephen Hubbard

Councillor Stephen Hubbard

94 Jersey Road, Strood, Rochester, Kent, ME2 3PD

Home: 07887 714757

Work: stephenhubbard3@virginmedia.com

Labour and Co-operative Strood North
photo of Councillor Steve Iles

Councillor Steve Iles

141 Watling Street, Strood, Kent, ME2 3JJ

Home: 01634 316484

Work mobile: 07948 143026

Home: steve.iles@medway.gov.uk

Independent Conservative Strood North
photo of Councillor Gary Etheridge

Councillor Gary Etheridge

48 Watling Street, Strood, Rochester, Kent, ME2 3NY

Home: 01634 711003

Home: medway48@yahoo.co.uk

Conservative Strood Rural
photo of Councillor Mrs Elizabeth Turpin

Councillor Mrs Elizabeth Turpin

30 Purbeck Road, Chatham, Kent, ME4 6ED

Home: 01634 305680

Work mobile: 07954 401825

Work: elizabeth.turpin@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Strood Rural
photo of Councillor John Williams

Councillor John Williams

49 Jarrett Avenue, Wainscott, Rochester, Kent, ME2 4NH

Work mobile: 07804 596781

Home: johnwilliams@freeavalon.co.uk

Conservative Strood Rural
photo of Councillor Chris Buckwell

Councillor Chris Buckwell

Deben Lady, Cuxton Marina, Station Road, Cuxton, Rochester, ME2 1AB

Home: 07977 260564

Home: chris.buckwell@btopenworld.com

Conservative Strood South
photo of Councillor Mrs Josie Iles

Councillor Mrs Josie Iles

Portfolio Holder for Children’s Services – Lead Member (statutory responsibility)

141 Watling Street, Strood, Rochester, Kent, ME2 3JJ

Home: 01634 316484

Work mobile: 07730 789525

Home: josie.iles@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Strood South
photo of Councillor Richard Thorne

Councillor Richard Thorne

214 High St, Halling, Rochester, Kent, ME2 1BZ

Home: 07825 604994

Work: richard.thorne@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Strood South
photo of Councillor Hazel Browne

Councillor Hazel Browne

22 Chester Road, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 4AF

Home: 01634 309602

Work: hazel.browne@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Twydall
photo of Councillor John Lloyd

Councillor John Lloyd

142 Beechings Way, Twydall, Kent, ME8 6NE

Home: 01634 378938

Home mobile: 07530 068586

Work: j.lloyd5@btinternet.com

Labour and Co-operative Twydall
photo of Councillor Mark Prenter

Councillor Mark Prenter

1 Stuart Road, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 4AA

Home: 07973 570743

Work: mark.prenter@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Twydall
photo of Councillor David Brake

Councillor David Brake

Portfolio Holder for Adults' Services

"Sherwood House", 29 Robin Hood Lane, Walderslade, Chatham, Kent, ME5 9NS

Home: 01634 668649

Work mobile: 07500 959610

Home: david.brake@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Walderslade
photo of Councillor Adrian Gulvin

Councillor Adrian Gulvin

Portfolio Holder for Resources

30 Glamis Close, Chatham, Kent, ME5 7QQ

Home: 01634 670853

Work: adrian.gulvin@medway.gov.uk

Conservative Walderslade
photo of Councillor Wendy Purdy

Councillor Wendy Purdy

4 Nore Close, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 3DG

Home: 01634 578669

Work: johnpurdy@btinternet.com

Conservative Watling
photo of Councillor Chrissy Stamp

Councillor Chrissy Stamp

98 Second Avenue, Gillingham, Kent, ME7 2HS

Home: 07557 981138

Work: chrissy.stamp@medway.gov.uk

Labour and Co-operative Watling