# **Medway Council**

# MEETING OF JOINT MEETING OF ALL COMMITTEES

# Wednesday, 25 May 2011

8.20pm to 8.23pm

# RECORD OF THE MEETING

Subject to approval as an accurate record at the next meeting of this committee

**PRESENT:** Councillors: Avey, Baker (Mayor), Bowler, Brake, Bright, Carr,

Mrs Diane Chambers, Rodney Chambers, Chishti, Chitty, Clarke,

Colman, Cooper, Craven, Doe, Etheridge, Filmer, Gilry,

Christine Godwin, Paul Godwin, Griffin, Pat Gulvin, Adrian Gulvin, Harriott, Hewett, Hicks, Hubbard, Igwe, Iles, Irvine, Jarrett, Juby, Kearney, Kemp, Mackinlay, Mackness, Maisey (Deputy Mayor), Maple, Mason, Murray, O'Brien, Osborne, Price, Purdy, Rodberg, Royle, Shaw, Smith, Stamp, Turpin, Watson, Wicks and Wildey

In Attendance: Chris Buckwell Parish Council Representative of

the Standards Committee

Janet Gray Independent Member of the

Standards Committee

Christopher Sanford Independent Member of the

Standards Committee

John Sindrey Independent Member of the

Standards Committee

Anthony Dance Independent Member of the

Standards Committee

Charles Thompson Independent Member of the

Standards Committee

Alan Marsh Parish Council Representative of

the Standards Committee

David Coomber Parish Council Representative of

the Standards Committee

Rose Collinson Director of Children and Adults

Mick Hayward Chief Finance Officer

Julie Keith Head of Democratic Services
Jane Ringham Head of Elections and Member

Services

Richard Hicks Assistant Director, Customer

First, Leisure, Culture,

Democracy and Governance

Neil Davies Chief Executive

Deborah Upton Assistant Director, Housing and

Corporate Services/Monitoring

Officer

### Joint Meeting of all Committees, 25 May 2011

Robin Cooper Director of Regeneration,
Community and Culture
Ellen Wright Democratic Services Officer

#### 10 Election of Chairman

The Mayor (Councillor Baker) was elected the chair the meeting.

### 11 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Griffiths and Tolhurst and Fatima Shah (Independent member of Standards Committee) Jim Grogan (Member of Children and Young People's Overview and Scrutiny Committee and Alex Tear (Member of Children and Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee).

### 12 Declarations of interest

There were none.

### 13 Appointment of Committee Chairmen and Vice Chairmen

#### Discussion:

Members considered the report on the agenda for the Annual Council meeting which recommended the appointment of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of Committees.

The Mayor put to the meeting the recommendations as set out in paragraph 6.2 (i) of Item 7 (B) on the Annual Council agenda.

#### **Decision:**

That the appointment of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of Committees be agreed as set out in Appendix A of item 7(B) of the Annual Council agenda.

### 14 Establishment and Membership of Sub-Committees and Task Groups

#### Discussion:

Members considered a report, which recommended the establishment of Sub-Committees and Task Groups and their membership.

The Mayor put to the meeting the recommendations as set out in paragraph 6.2(ii) of Item 7 (B) of the report on the Annual Council agenda.

#### **Decision:**

The Sub-Committee (with terms of reference as set out in the Council's constitution) and task groups be established, with their size, allocation of seats

# Joint Meeting of all Committees, 25 May 2011

to political groups and memberships as set out in Appendix A of item 7(B) of the Annual Council agenda.
Chairman of the Appointments Committee
Date
Chairman of the Audit Committee
Date
Chairman of the Business Support Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the Children and Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the Employment Matters Committee
Date
Chairman of the Health and Adult Social Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the International Relations Committee
Date

# Joint Meeting of all Committees, 25 May 2011

Chairman of the Licensing and Safety Committee
Date
Chairman of the Planning Committee
Date
Chairman of the Regeneration Community and Culture Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the School Transport and Curriculum Appeals Committee
Date
Chairman of the Standards Committee
Date
Chairman
Date:

Julie Keith, Head of Democratic Services

Telephone: 01634 332760

Email: democraticservices@medway.gov.uk



