

Rt Hon Angela Rayner Secretary of State & Deputy Prime Minister 2 Marsham Street London SW1P 4DF **Kent Council Leaders**

c/o Partnerships Team County Hall Maidstone Kent ME14 1XQ

Phone: 03000 416 858 Ask for: Tim Woolmer

Email: kentcouncilleaders@kent.gov.uk

11 October 2024

Dear Secretary of State,

You will have received last week a letter from the Leaders of the 12 City District and Borough Councils in Kent and separately the Expressions of Interest in devolution from Medway Council and Kent County Council.

In pursuit of the very best devolutionary arrangements for all of Kent and Medway, we are pleased to write additionally to accompany a letter from the Leaders of Medway Council and Kent County Council outlining the importance of a devolution settlement to improve the economic and social prosperity of our residents and businesses.

Combining as 13 Leaders of the 14 principal councils in Kent and Medway, we support these individual submissions and commend them to you as both a package and a starting point to work with officials from across government to shape an innovative and comprehensive deal for Kent and Medway. The Leader of the 14th principal council agrees that devolution will be helpful and supports the principle of working together on the agenda.

Yours sincerely,

Kent and Medway Council Leaders



Noel Ovenden

Leader, Ashford Borough Council

Jeremy Kite MBE

you Kh.

Leader, Dartford Borough Council

Jim Martin

Leader, Folkestone & Hythe District Council

Roger Gough

Leader, Kent County Council

Vince Maple

Leader, Medway Council

Tim Gibson

Leader, Swale Borough Council

Leader, Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council

Alan Baldock

Leader, Canterbury City Council

Kevin Mills

Leader, Dover District Council

John Burden

Leader, Gravesham Borough Council

Stuart Jeffery

Leader, Maidstone Borough Council

Roddy Hogarth

Leader, Sevenoaks District Council

Rick Everitt

Leader, Thanet District Council

Ben Chapelard

Leader, Tunbridge Wells Borough Council