Medway Council Meeting of Joint Meeting of Committees Wednesday, 18 May 2022 7.45pm to 7.46pm

Record of the meeting

Present: Councillors: Adeoye, Ahmed, Aldous, Brake, Barrett, Browne,

Buckwell, Carr, Chitty, Clarke, Cooper, Curry, Doe, Edwards, Etheridge, Fearn, Filmer, Sylvia Griffin, Gulvin, Hackwell, Howcroft-Scott, Hubbard, Mrs Josie lles, Jarrett, Johnson, Kemp, Lammas, Lloyd, Mahil, Maple, Murray, Opara, Osborne,

Paterson, Pendergast, Potter, Prenter, Purdy, Sands, Chrissy Stamp, Tejan, Thompson, Thorne, Tranter,

Mrs Elizabeth Turpin, Van Dyke, Rupert Turpin, Wildey and

Williams

In Attendance: Neil Davies, Chief Executive

Bhupinder Gill, Assistant Director, Legal and Governance

Wayne Hemingway, Head of Democratic Services

Jon Pitt, Democratic Services Officer

9 Election of Chairman

The Worshipful the Mayor of Medway, Councillor Aldous, was elected to chair the meeting.

10 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs Diane Chambers, Rodney Chambers OBE, Khan, McDonald, Price and Andy Stamp.

Apologies for absence were also received from Clive Mailing and Lenny Williams (voting co-opted Members of the Children and Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee).

11 Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests and Other Significant Interests

Disclosable pecuniary interests

There were none.

Joint Meeting of Committees, 18 May 2022

Other significant interests (OSIs)

There were none.

Other interests

There were none.

12 The appointment of Committee Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen

Background:

The report on the agenda for the Annual Meeting of Medway Council on 18 May 2022 set out the recommendations for the appointment of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of Committees, excluding the Health and Wellbeing Board.

The Mayor, supported by Councillor Kemp, proposed the recommendations as set out in agenda item No.3 of the Joint Meeting of Committees, relating to the appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees, excluding the Health and Wellbeing Board.

Decision:

The Joint Meeting of Committees agreed the appointment of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of Committees as set out in Appendix B of item 7 to the agenda for the Annual Meeting of Medway Council.

13 The establishment, allocation of seats to political groups and membership of Sub-Committees

Background:

The report on the agenda for the Annual Meeting of Medway Council on 18 May 2022 set out the recommendations for the establishment, their size, the allocation of seats to political groups and membership of Sub-Committees and their membership. This included the requirement to waive political balance in respect of Licensing Hearing Panels and Licensing 1982 Act Hearing Panels and the process for the selection of these Panels as indicated on page 21 of the agenda papers.

The Mayor, supported by Councillor Kemp, proposed the recommendations as set out in in agenda item No.4 of the Joint Meeting of Committees, relating to the establishment, allocation of seats to political groups and membership of Sub-Committees.

Decision:

The Joint Meeting of Committees agreed the establishment of sub-committees (with terms of reference as set out in the Council's Constitution), their size and the allocation of seats to political groups, including the requirement to waive

Joint Meeting of Committees, 18 May 2022

Chairman

political balance in respect of Licensing Hearing Panels and Licensing 1982 Act Hearing Panels and the process for the selection of these Panels, as set out in Appendix B to the agenda for the Annual Meeting of Medway Council.

Date:
Wayne Hemingway, Head of Democratic Services
Telephone: 01634 332509 Email: democraticservices@medway.gov.uk
Chairman of the Audit Committee
Date
Chairman of the Business Support Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the Children and Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Chairman of the Councillor Conduct Committee
Date
Chairman of the Employment Matters Committee
Date
Chairman of the Health and Adult Social Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date

Joint Meeting of Committees, 18 May 2022

Chairman of the Licensing and Safety Committee
Date
Chairman of the Planning Committee
Date
Chairman of the Regeneration, Culture and Environment Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the School Transport and Curriculum Appeals Committee
Date