Medway Council Meeting of Medway Council Thursday, 7 October 2021 6.00pm to 6.43pm

Record of the meeting

Subject to approval as an accurate record at the next Full Council meeting

Present:The Worshipful The Mayor of Medway (Councillor Aldous)
The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Carr)
Councillors Adeoye, Barrett, Brake, Buckwell,
Mrs Diane Chambers, Rodney Chambers, OBE, Chitty, Cooper,
Curry, Doe, Etheridge, Fearn, Filmer, Sylvia Griffin, Gulvin,
Hackwell, Howcroft-Scott, Mrs Josie Iles, Jarrett, Johnson,
Kemp, Khan, Lloyd, Mahil, Maple, McDonald, Murray, Opara,
Osborne, Potter, Price, Purdy, Sands, Chrissy Stamp, Tejan,
Thompson, Thorne, Tranter, Mrs Elizabeth Turpin and
Rupert Turpin

In Attendance: Neil Davies, Chief Executive Bhupinder Gill, Assistant Director, Legal and Governance Wayne Hemingway, Head of Democratic Services Jon Pitt, Democratic Services Officer

341 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Ahmed, Bowler, Browne, Clarke, Hubbard, Lammas, Patterson, Pendergast, Prenter, Andy Stamp, Van Dyke, Wildey and Williams.

342 Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests and Other Significant Interests

Disclosable pecuniary interests

There were none.

Other significant interests (OSIs)

There were none.

Other interests

There were none.

343 Glyn Griffiths, Julie Shaw and Tom Mason - Conferment of Title of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman of the Borough

Background:

This report provided details of a proposal to confer the status of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman of the Borough on Glyn Griffiths, Tom Mason and Julie Shaw in recognition of outstanding service as past Members of the Council, ensuring the honourable perpetuation of their memory within the community, in accordance with section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Jarrett, supported by Councillor Maple, proposed the recommendations set out in the report.

Councillors Doe, Murray, Buckwell and Adeoye paid tribute to Glyn Griffiths, Tom Mason and Julie Shaw.

The Council agreed, in pursuance of the power vested in it by virtue of section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, to confer the title of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman of the borough respectively on Glyn Griffiths, Tom Mason and Julie Shaw in perpetuity on the basis that they may, from time to time, be invited to participate in civic ceremonies as the Council may decide.

The Worshipful the Mayor of Medway presented Glyn Griffiths, Sheila Rees on behalf of Tom Mason and Julie Shaw with commemorative scrolls, following which Glyn Griffiths, Sheila Rees on behalf of Tom Mason and Julie Shaw all addressed the Council.

Decision:

The Council agreed, in pursuance of the power vested in it by virtue of section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, and in recognition of the eminent services they have rendered to the Council and its predecessor authorities, to confer the title of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman of the borough respectively to Glyn Griffiths, Tom Mason and Julie Shaw in perpetuity on the basis that they may, from time to time, be invited to participate in civic ceremonies as the Council may decide.

(Note: This resolution was passed by more than two thirds of the Members voting thereon).

Mayor

Date:

Wayne Hemingway, Head of Democratic Services

Telephone: 01634 332509 Email: democratic.services@medway.gov.uk This page is intentionally left blank