# Medway Council Meeting of Licensing and Safety Committee Wednesday, 10 June 2020 6.00pm to 6.03pm

# **Record of the meeting**

# Subject to approval as an accurate record at the next meeting of this committee

Present:	Councillors: Mrs Diane Chambers (Chairman), Fearn (Vice- Chairman), Hackwell and Mahil
In Attendance:	Stephen Platt, Democratic Services Officer

# 21 Election of Chairman

#### **Decision:**

Councillor Mrs Diane Chambers was elected Chairman for the 2020/21 municipal year.

# 22 Election of Vice-Chairman

#### **Decision:**

Councillor Fearn was elected Vice-Chairman for the 2020/21 municipal year.

#### 23 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Adeoye, Bhutia, Browne, Carr, Kemp, McDonald, Prenter and Mrs Elizabeth Turpin.

#### 24 Record of meeting

The record of the meeting held on 11 March 2020 was agreed and signed by the Chairman as correct.

#### 25 Urgent matters by reason of special circumstances

There were none.

#### 26 Declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests and other interests

**Disclosable pecuniary interests** 

There were none.

#### Other significant interests (OSIs)

There were none.

#### Other interests

There were none.

# 27 Establishment of Sub-Committees of the Licensing and Safety Committee

#### **Discussion:**

Members considered a report regarding the establishment of sub-committees for the 2020/21 municipal year, these being the Licencing Sub-Committee, the Licensing Hearing Panels and the Licensing 1982 Act Hearing Panels.

#### **Decision:**

The Committee agreed:

- a) the establishment of the Licensing Sub-Committee, Licensing Hearing Panels and Licensing 1982 Act Hearing Panels; their size, the allocation of seats to political groups and memberships as set out in Appendix 2 of the report; and
- b) that the requirement for political balance should be waived in respect of Licensing Hearing Panels and Licensing 1982 Act Hearing Panels and that the process for selection of Panel Members should be as set out in Appendix 2 of the report.

#### Chairman

Date:

#### Stephen Platt, Democratic Services Officer

Telephone: 01634 332011 Email: democratic.services@medway.gov.uk