# Medway Council MEETING OF JOINT MEETING OF ALL COMMITTEES Wednesday, 16 May 2012 8.15pm to 8.16pm

# **RECORD OF THE MEETING**

Subject to approval as an accurate record at the next meeting of this committee

PRESENT: Councillors: Avey, Baker, Bowler, Brake, Bright, Carr, Mrs Diane Chambers, Rodney Chambers, Chitty, Clarke, Colman, Cooper, Craven, Doe, Etheridge, Filmer, Gilry, Christine Godwin, Paul Godwin, Griffin, Griffiths, Adrian Gulvin, Pat Gulvin, Harriott, the Worshipful the Mayor (Hewett), Hicks, Hubbard, Igwe, Deputy Mayor (Iles), Irvine, Juby, Kearney, Kemp, Mackinlay, Mackness, Maisey, Maple, Mason, Murray, O'Brien, Osborne, Price, Purdy, Rodberg, Royle, Shaw, Smith, Stamp, Tolhurst, Turpin, Watson, Wicks and Wildey

Chris Buckwell	Parish Council Representative of the Standards Committee
David Coomber	Parish Council Representative of the Standards Committee
Anthony Dance	Independent Member of the Standards Committee
Janet Gray	Independent Member of the Standards Committee
Alan Marsh	Parish Council Representative of the Standards Committee
Christopher Sanford	Independent Member of the Standards Committee
Fatima Shah	Independent Member of the Standards Committee
John Sindrey	Independent Member of the Standards Committee
Neil Davies	Chief Executive
	Director of Regeneration, Community and Culture
Neil Davies Mick Havward	Chief Executive Chief Finance Officer
Wayne Hemingway	Democratic Services Officer
	David Coomber Anthony Dance Janet Gray Alan Marsh Christopher Sanford Fatima Shah John Sindrey Neil Davies Robin Cooper Neil Davies Mick Hayward

## Joint Meeting of all Committees, 16 May 2012

Richard Hicks	Assistant Director, Customer First, Leisure, Culture,
	Democracy and Governance
Julie Keith	Head of Democratic Services
Jane Ringham	Head of Elections and Member Services
John Staples	Media Manager

#### 9 Election of Chairman

The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Hewett) was elected to chair the meeting.

#### 10 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Chishti and Jarrett.

Apologies for absence were received from the following Children and Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee co-opted voting Members: Samantha Collins, Jim Grogan and Alex Tear.

An apology for absence was received from the following Standards Committee Independent Member: Charles Thompson.

#### **11** Declarations of interest

There were none.

### 12 Appointment of Committee Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen

#### **Discussion:**

The report on the agenda for the Annual Council Meeting set out the recommendations for the appointment of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of Committees.

The Mayor proposed the recommendations as set out in paragraph 7.2 (i) of Item 8 on the Annual Council Meeting agenda.

#### **Decision:**

The Joint Meeting of Committees agreed the appointment of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of Committees as set out in Appendix A of item 8 of the Annual Council Meeting agenda.

#### 13 Establishment and Membership of Sub-Committees and Task Groups

#### **Discussion:**

The report on the agenda for the Annual Council Meeting set out the recommendations for the establishment of Sub-Committees and Task Groups and their membership.

The Mayor proposed the recommendation as set out in paragraph 7.2(ii) of item 8 on the Annual Council Meeting agenda, which included a recommendation to the Licensing and Safety Committee to waive the political balance requirement in relation to the Licensing Hearing Panel and Licensing 1982 Act Hearing Panel.

# **Decision:**

The Joint Meeting of Committees agreed that Sub-Committees (with terms of reference as set out in the Council's constitution) and Task Groups be established, with their size, allocation of seats to political groups and memberships as set out in Appendix A of item 8 of the Annual Council Meeting agenda.

Chairman of the Appointments Committee
Date
Chairman of the Audit Committee
Date
Chairman of the Business Support Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date

This record is available on our website - www.medway.gov.uk

Chairman of the Children and Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the Employment Matters Committee
Date
Chairman of the Health and Adult Social Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the Licensing and Safety Committee
Date
Chairman of the Planning Committee
Date

Chairman of the Regeneration Community and Culture Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Date
Chairman of the School Transport and Curriculum Appeals Committee
Date
Chairman of the Standards Committee
Date

# Julie Keith, Head of Democratic Services

Telephone: 01634 332760 Email: democraticservices@medway.gov.uk